Young Researchers Prize 2017

2019 | 20172015 |2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009


The 2017 Young researchers' Event

Every one or two years, GERG hosts a competition which attempts to highlight the work currently being done by postgraduate students in the field of gas research. This work serves to illustrate that a new generation of researchers is working hard to establish gas as a key enabler of a new decarbonised energy system.

The 2017 event took place on October 27th alongside the Eurogas Annual Conference in Brussels, with the theme of renewable gas. Six selected students from all the applications received presented their work in posters, as well as on-stage in a 5 minute 'elevator pitch'. A panel chaired by the GERG President chose 2 winners from the 6 poster submissions, a difficult task as the quality was very high. The two winners, Rasmus Bramstoft (Denmark) and Borja Gaston (Spain)  were awarded  €1500 prizes by the GERG President. The assembled delegates then also chose the best presentation, the winner, Marco Cavana,  receiving a special Eurogas prize.

Young researchers 2017

Marco Cavana - Hydrogen Blending into the Gas Distribution Grid

Rasmus Bramstoft - The Role of Renewable Gas in the Danish Energy System

Borja Gaston - Feasibility of converting a Combined cycle plant into Power to Gas Plant

Lorena De Souza - Phase behaviour in the Context of Carbon Capture

Aker Garcia - Improvement and cost analysis of Power to Gas technology through Process Simulation

Ahmed Ahmed - Real time management of the Smart Gas Grid